Persipura Jayapura Crowned 2013 Indonesia Super League Champions

JAYAPURA CITY - The Black Pearl secured their third championship with four matches left and sparked joyous celebrations on the street

Persipura Jayapura have been crowned the 2013 Indonesia Super League (ISL) champions following their 2-0 victory over Persiwa Wamena last Wednesday at the Pendidikan Stadium.

A goal each from Indonesia international Boaz Solossa and Patrich Wanggai in the second half were enough to seal the Black Pearl’s third ISL trophy with four matches to go in the league campaign.

Persipura are currently on 73 points from 30 matches, ahead of joint second-placed teams Arema Indonesia, Persib Bandung and Sriwijaya FC, who are all on 56 points.

The Papua-based club fans celebrated their triumph in Jayapura, with many on a motorcycle convoy while waving the four-star Persipura flag.

"We are very happy after the victory over Persiwa and becoming the Indonesia Super League 2013 champions!" said Zadoch Benaya, an elementary student and Persipura fan.

Karel Rumaropen, a former coach with local Jayapura team Cigombong Putra FC, hopes that the club will have a decent outing in the regional competition next year, and is also confident that Boaz will collect the golden boot award this season.

"In the 2011 AFC Cup, Persipura advanced to the quarter-final stage and I hope next season we can achieve better results," he said.

“At this moment Boaz is the top scorer but Sergio Van Dijk does have a chance too.

“All this while, Persipura have emphasized on collectivity to the point that a victory is very important.

“But now that they have been crowned champions, they should ensure that the Boaz can end the season as the top scorer.” [GoalSingapore]
Bagikan ke Google Plus

0 komentar:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.